Backup and Restore : Delete snapshots

Delete snapshots
You cannot delete snapshots for an existing PN. However, if you deleted a PN, because you either removed the PN from production or you moved the PN to another HA Appliance, you might want to delete all the orphan data associated with that PN. Such orphan data includes:
•
•
•
•
However, in the latter case, don’t delete the orphan data without first confirming that backups for the PN are working on the new HA Appliance. Moreover, to keep the onQ Appliances in sync, Quorum recommends that you perform this procedure on the HA Appliance’s DR Appliances and DR Mirrors.
To delete orphan data:
1.
Log on to the HA Appliance’s onQ Portal.
2.
Go to PROTECTION CONFIG tab > FIND ORPHANS button.
The onQ Portal searches the Repository for orphan data. If onQ Portal doesn’t find any orphan data, the onQ Portal returns a No data found that does not belong to a configured PN message. Otherwise, the onQ Portal prompts you to purge the orphan data that the onQ Portal did find.
3.
A progress dialog appears, highlighting the number of files waiting to be deleted. This process can take several minutes per snapshot.
4.
After the purge completes, repeat Step 2 to verify that the onQ Portal removed all orphan snapshots.
5.

v3.8 SP1 HF1
v3.8 SP1 HF1